Dream Big by Starting Small – How to Create an Effective Vision Board

Recently, I have been a little nervous about the future. I just graduated college and I have so many things that I want to accomplish right now, but it’s difficult for me to focus on all of them at once without afflicting myself. I was talking to my boyfriend one night about all of the ideas I have for this blog, my internship, next summer, etc. and it was all a little overwhelming whenever I actually let the words come out of my mouth. I’m the type of personality to get things done now and done right and it sometimes takes a toll. He could tell that all of these ideas and plans were making me a little crazy, so he brought to my attention the idea of a vision board. A vision board is a collage of images, pictures and affirmations of your dreams and it’s used by people who want to accomplish so many things, but don’t really know where to start, so they just stick pictures on a board to remind them of the things that make them happy. It seemed kind of petty to me at first, because I “know” all of the things that make me happy and I “know” all of the dreams I have, but after actually creating my own vision board, the bigger picture became so much clearer to me.

We decided to make a date night out of it and create our vision boards together, so we could really see what meant the most to each other. If you’re in a serious relationship with someone and are looking for something that will seriously bond the two of you while also having tons of fun, you have to try this!

Seeing everything that I want to achieve in my later years and all of the things that are currently making me who I am in written and image form all in one place forged this overwhelming feeling of euphoria and made me realize that I can accomplish all of the things I desire to, just a little bit at a time. My dreams are big, as they’re supposed to be, but creating my vision board brought me back to reality and helped me pinpoint the things that were important to me and those that were going to get me where I want to be in my life and I’m 100% sure, if you open your mind to the experience, it could help you as well.

 

To create your vision board, you will need:SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

  • Cork board, poster board, white board, etc. to stick your images to
  • Old magazines or books that you don’t mind cutting images out of
  • Scissors
  • Tape, glue or thumb tacks depending on which board you choose
  • Optional: Markers, colored paper, glitter, or anything extra you want to use to make it cute

 

What you will have to do to create your effective vision board:

  • Step 1: Grab all of your materials and sit at an area where you will have enough space to create the board.
  • Step 2: Cut on Pandora, Spotify, or one of your personal favorite playlists to get those creative juices flowing.
  • Step 3: Force yourself to be honest with yourself and figure out what your current mood and outlook on your current situation really is.
  • Step 4: Go through the magazine or books you have chosen to use and cut out phrases and images that illustrate those current feelings.SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
  • Step 5: Think about 5-10 things that you want to accomplish in the next year alone. Who do you want to be by this time next year? What can you do everyday to become that person?
  • Step 6: Go through the magazine or books you have chosen to use and cut out phrases and images that display the steps you will take in the next year to become a better you.
  • Step 7: Think, and I mean really think, about what you want to accomplish in your lifetime. The list can be as long or as short as you like.
  • Step 8: Go through the magazine or books you have chosen to use and cut out phrases and images that speak to you in regards to those big dreams of yours.
  • Step 9: Once you have all of your images and phrases cut out, begin to arrange them on the board you have chosen to use in a collage-like fashion
  • Step 10: Once you have created an arrangement you are pleased with, begin gluing, tacking or taping the phrases and images down to the board you have chosen.
  • Optional – Step 11: Decorate with the extra craft items you have chosen to use.

 

Once you have completed your vision board, it should look something like these two:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Can you guess which one is mine? 🙂

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

On my vision board, I found lots of phrases that targeted women empowerment for the things I want to accomplish later on in life. You can see the picture of the woman news anchor from Anchorman and phrases like “BOSS,” Girls Got Game,” “Cosmo Contributors,” and “The Ultimate.” I chose phrases and images such as these because I want to be on top one day doing something that I am very passionate about and break gender stereotypes of success in the workplace. For the things I would like to accomplish in the next year, I chose phrases like “What’s in Your Fridge?,” “Dress for the Job You Want,” “Bye, Bye Breakouts,” “Stamina,” “Beauty” and “Promoted,” because I want to get my body in shape, excel as an employee in my company, experiment with ways to have a better complexion and take this blog to the next level. For the things that make me happy and motivated (my two ‘feelings’ for Step 3), I chose a picture of Minnie Mouse, because Disney makes me elated, phrases like “Baby, You’re a Firework,” “Attitude,” and “Go Ahead, Get Aggressive,” and images of current fashion trends and makeup to remind me of how much joy posting everyday to this blog gives me. My boyfriend chose images and phrases that illustrated the life of a successful business man.

 

Your vision board is exactly that, YOURS, so do with it as you please. Above are just examples to give you an idea of what to look for and think about when you start the creation of your vision board. Be creative, be honest and open and be yourself and the finished product will be so rewarding.

