Trend of the Day: Maxi Dresses

In addition to colored skinny jeans, maxi dresses are an absolute must for your Summer 2014 wardrobe. My favorite aspect of maxi dresses, other than their inevitable degree of comfort, is the amount of versatility that comes with each one. You can wear a maxi dress literally anywhere, in any setting, and more than get away with it every time.

I went to Wal-Mart late last night to get supplies for my vision board and stumbled across some adorable, cheap maxi dresses that, of course, I needed in my closet. I decided to wear one of the maxi dresses I bought today to work and started experimenting with all of the different ways I could wear the outfit. In a matter of minutes, I was able to create three totally different outfits for different occasions: A professional business setting, casual day at the movies and drinks with the girls.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

 

 

For the professional business setting, I threw on one of my favorite black sharp shouldered blazers, a pair of deep brown Ray Ban style sunglasses and a pair of blue Steve Madden pumps.

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESFor the casual day at the movies, I knotted the bottom of my maxi dress, threw on a Forever 21 thin, white cardigan and a pair of plain white Keds. For accessories, I wore a pair of bright yellow sunglasses to match the yellow stripes of the Aztec pattern, a blue purse and gold and blue stacked bracelets. My favorite bracelet, being, my treasured Henri Bendel band.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

For the night out on the town with the girls, I let my shoulders and back stay bare by not putting on any type of cover up. I wore a pair of solid black Mary Jane stilettos and, for accessories, carried a silver clutch and stacked bracelets.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This post basically explicated exactly what I was talking about in the accessories post earlier this week: It’s amazing what you can do with just a few extra pieces.

